And It’s One Life and It’s This Life and It’s Beautiful

I haven’t blogged in ages so here goes. I’m not feeling very inspired, but of course new, free, legal indie music has inspired me once again.

So my favorite songs at the moment

Hard Believer by First Aid Kit…I first discovered this Swedish duo from an acoustic cover they did in the woods of Tiger Mountain Peasant Song by Fleet Foxes. I mean, how can I not like them? Also, the title of my blog comes from this song. Also the lead singer girl rocks bangs (a fringe) really well.

Let’s see what’s going on in my life? Well, today I went and served a women’s day shelter called My Sister’s Place…I was a lot of fun. I got to meet a lot of awesome women and serve them dinner 🙂 I love volunteering in my spare time, which is a lot.

Another band that I am in love with is Pomplamoose (grapefruit in French)…They do covers of songs here is an example…

I think they are def one of the cutest bands I know. Yea, it’s Telephone! Personally, I like this version and music video better far better than Lady Gaga’s. I suggest you check out more of their music, not only the covers, but also their original stuff.

OK I might be really late on this, but I just saw The Life Aquatic. It was really good actually and I have fallen in love with Bill Murray completely, although the movie did make me hate Owen Wilson even more. Why can’t he just play a normal character?!?!? I mean even in the Royal Tennabaums, he was a jerk. I know this isn’t even their league, but Wedding Crashers just made me hate Owen Wilson.

Anyways, the best part of The Life Aquatic was Sea Jorge’s covers of David Bowie’s songs adapted in Portuguese!!!!!  Yes, they blew me away.

I had perfect timing in watching The Life Aquatic because we had to watch Groundhog Day in my philosophy class the following day. I think I would have hated it if I hadn’t gained a new respect for Bill Murray. I do the philosophical value in the film now…

I also saw this amazing movie called Gentlemen Broncos..it had a Napolean Dynamite feel as it was directed by Jared Hess, but the plot was wayyyyyy better.

~ by kristinalys on March 25, 2010.

One Response to “And It’s One Life and It’s This Life and It’s Beautiful”

  1. Bill murray is frickin amazing, i like the majority of the films he is in. just watched scroodged the other day there and was in stitches ^_^

    Volunteer work is quite fun and its rewards are quite great if you think about it in terms of how you are helping others, but i don’t have much spare time to do any these days. work work work!

    Nice too see ya back on wordpress AND facebook haha

Leave a Reply

 
